It’s summer! Can you believe it? I really can’t.

After finishing up a week of finals, I headed to San Diego for less than 24 hours only to jet off to Maui, Hawaii with the fam bam. Maui was fantastic– such an awesome blessing from God to relieve some stress and simply relax after a hard year. But that’s not the point of this post.

What is the point then?, you ask. Well, the point is that it finally crossed my mind today that in less than 2 weeks I am headed to San Francisco for a week. Another vacation?, you roll your eyes. Nope. A mission!

I’m not going shopping in Union Square. Not eating clam chowder at the Wharf. Not sipping rich hot chocolate at Ghirardelli Square.

I’ll be hanging in the Tenderloin District. The Tenderloin?! What’s the Tenderloin?!, you ask if you have never heard of it before. It’s pretty much what it sounds like… some of the darkest, poorest, most sin-ridden streets of SF.

So Brenna, what’s a white girl like you going there for? Like I said, a mission. With a small group from my church (FBC Davis), we will be partnering alongside a permanently established ministry in the Tenderloin called City Impact. City Impact exists to offer “three types of work: RELIEF for those in urgent need, REHABILITATION for those wanting a way out, and DEVELOPMENT to ensure the cycles of poverty and despair are not repeated.”

What I will be doing there is still TBD… perhaps mopping floors, cleaning toilets, playing with children, talking to residents, doing street ministry. I’ll let you know in a couple weeks.

The reason why I am posting this is not to brag or make myself seem righteous. I am so excited for what the Lord has in store for me and my mission team. I trust that Jesus’s call for my life– and every other believer’s life as well– to serve “the least of these” will be an opportunity for growth and trust in God. But the true reason I post this is to call my believing friends to join alongside me in prayer– both for my time in the Tenderloin and for long-term success of City Impact/ the Gospel in SF.

Just pray. That’s all I ask.

I’ll keep today’s post short. However, if you’re interested in hearing more about my mission (besides what I choose to post here), feel free to comment, email, text me. I plan to write letters to those prayerfully supporting me about God’s work in the Tenderloin both during and after my week there.

 

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

